I am sorry that I did not post a prompt yesterday. I was not able to get to a computer.

 

Please note that this writing does not relate to me in any way. It is a work of fiction.

 

Today my writing prompt is: Something you’ve been afraid of since you were a child.

 

“I hear you,” I said to the air.

“Good. Now listen.” The voice was pleasant. It was the voice of a woman whispering gently into my ear. I felt as though I could feel her holding me. Rocking me gently. Like a child.

“Who are you?” I asked. Luckily no one was around to hear me seemingly talk to myself in my empty apartment building.

“That doesn’t matter. You have to listen to me now, or you’ll miss your opportunity. I can give you what you want, but you must listen.”

“Alright.” The woman continued to rock me.

“I have business to attend to, and I need you to help me. I have been watching you for a long time, keeping you safe. But now is the time when I finally need you.”

“I’ve been hearing you in my head for years,” I whispered. “You’ve been keeping me safe?”

“Yes. I am your guardian, and I must ask a favor.” I gripped the edge of my sofa, wishing I could see whoever was talking to me.

“Am I insane?”

“You are not. You are gifted. With me.” I could feel the woman stop rocking me. I could feel her staring into my eyes. “I need you. Your body. To carry out the business I have been tasked with.”

“My body?” I asked as my voice quivered.

“Yes. I need you to let me take you. Just for a while. Then you can see what I must do. I am an angel of heaven.” As I heard the word, “angel”, the word almost sprang out of me.

“Yes!” I said. “Okay. Take me. Then I’ll go to heaven right?”

“Of course. I know that is what you’ve wanted for so long, that going to Hell is what you fear.”

“I have.”

“Then I shall take you.”

I felt my body shiver, and the spirit of the woman spread throughout my body. Then, unspeakable pain. I screamed.

“What!? What’s going on!” The fire in my body raged on. The voice of the woman was gone. It was replaced with one of darkness.

“You have given in to me. I am Lucifer. I am your God.”

